Dreamcatchers for Abused Children… Chase Community Giving

June 18, 2010

Dreamcatchers for Abused Children… Chase Community Giving

Dreamcatchers’s mission is to educate the public on child abuse signs/symptoms, statistics, intervention, reporting, prevention and to assist victims and survivors in locating the proper resources to help achieve and enable a full recovery.

Sandra Potter, CEO and Founder of Dreamcatchers for Abused Children is asked daily “Why do you run this website?”

Sandra answers in her own words:

“I am just a mother on a mission!  I was one of those parents who thought this type of thing would “never happen to me.  We lived in a small country town and my mother & stepfather babysat for me to KEEP THEM SAFE FROM HARM while I struggled and worked the night shift.  I mean, if you can’t trust your own family, who can you trust right? WRONG!!!!!

The day that I walked in and caught my stepfather molesting my 5-year old innocent daughter was the HORRIFIC & TRAUMATIC moment in my life.  My world (and hers) as we knew it had just permanently changed.  On our way to the police station she looked at me and saw me crying.  She was wrapped in only a light blanket, it was the only thing I could quickly grab as I rushed out of the house with her.  She said, “Mom, don’t cry.  It’s okay…We were just playing our secret game.  My heart SANK!

How could I not have seen the signs?  Why didn’t she tell me?  How did I not know?  I wanted this man to pay for what he did to my daughter!

He confessed to molesting my little girl from the age of 2-5 years old!   HE STOLE THREE YEARS OF HER INNOCENCE, TRUST AND CHILDHOOLD!

I went through every emotion possible from shock, denial, depression and even suicidal-then finally anger.  Even though he was prosecuted and sentenced to 15 years for CSC 2nd Degree, it still didn’t seem like enough.

So, I actually went out and purchased my first handgun with the intention of serving my own justice, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it.  My child had already been through enough trauma.  WOULD A JURY HAVE FOUND ME GUILTY? It depends……Because if any other parent had witnessed what I had to witness that horrific day, by God, I cannot see how ANY jury could ever find a parent GUILTY!!

I am convinced that if I had known then, what I know now, I would have seen the signs – I would have KNOWN something was wrong – I would have been able to STOP IT!  I know how hard it is to comprehend HOW or WHY anyone would hurt our innocent children but, the reality is THEY DO.

I have spent many hours working on my websites – hoping and praying to educate just ONE MORE PERSON.  For each new member educated on child abuse is yet another chance of possibly saving an innocent child.  My goal is to help educate others based on my own personal experiences, extensive research and firsthand knowledge of the turmoil, trauma and life-long effects abuse can have on your life.

Educate yourself – Learn the facts.  This can happen in ANY household-Male or Female.  It only take a few minutes to look over our site, but the knowledge gained will last you a lifetime.  It could just save a child’s life!

TOGETHER WE CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE!”

Donna M. Kshir (Best-Selling Barnes & Noble author) and Sandra Potter have teamed up to write a series of educational books pertaining to child abuse and domestic violence.  They have made it their mission to try to educate the public on this increasing epidemic plaguing our nation.  Please educate yourself – Learn the facts – It could just save a child’s life!

Dreamcatcher’s for Abused Children

In The Know Blog – Daily Breaking Child Abuse News and Headlines

JPMorgan Chase has given more than $100 million to nonprofit organizations every year for the past five years, focusing on community development, education, and arts and culture. The bank strives to be a catalyst to meaningful, positive, and sustainable change within high-need neighborhoods and communities across the globe. It also supports employee efforts through matching gift and volunteer programs. Earlier this year, Chase provided over 500,000 local organizations with a national platform to promote their missions, attract new supporters, and gain visibility with more than 2 million Chase Community Giving fans. At the end of the program, we gave away $5 million to charities all over the country, including a grand prize donation of $1 million to Invisible Children to help children in Uganda.

Now, with your help, we’re ready to do it again! It’s a new Way Forward for giving.

Please click on the Chase Community Giving Logo above to cast your vote for Dreamcathers For Abuse Children.

Thank you!

